Rhode Island Governor Charles Jackson built the first cotton mill here in 1825.
By the late 1880s the mill was owned by Christopher Lippitt and Company and produced sheeting. Fifty workers were employed and 120 broad looms were in operation.
By 1901, the mill was owned by B. B. & R. Knight and stood three to four stories high. The Knights went out of business in 1928-1929.
In 1932, the site was bought to operate a linen-supply business. Today, only a one-story, stone outbuilding and some smaller structures survive. In the modern era the property passed through various owners and is currently occupied by a landscaping company.