In 1778, when the British built a defensive line of earthworks to protect Newport from the besieging American troops, the Battery at Green End stood near the southern end of that line. A sinuous mound of earth and a grassy open area with a steep slope to the east mark the site of this Revolutionary War defense work. As recently as the late 19th century, cannonballs were unearthed from nearby properties, souvenirs of the 1778 Siege of Newport, in which the Americans to the east kept up a cannonade against British positions.
The British held their positions in and around Newport until October of 1779, when they withdrew to prepare for a campaign in the colonies to the south. In July 1780, a French fleet with thirty-six troop transports arrived in Newport to begin the planning and staging that ultimately led to American victory in the Battle of Yorktown.
The French troops of the St. Onge regiment improved on the British fort at Green End, and it became known as the Redoubt St. Onge. When they departed in June of 1781, Green End fort was abandoned.
During the 19th century the area around the fort became farmland, and in 1894 the Newport Historical Society assumed ownership of Green End Fort. By 1923, the property was developed as a park, with a grassy central open area and a historical marker. The site is now maintained by the Sons of the Revolution and recent removal of the aggressive local overgrowth has revealed the fort's dramatic eastern profile.